MINUTES OF THE LONG BRANCH HOUSING AUTHORITY REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS HELD MAY 18, 2020

Executive Director Wright issued a statement to the Board in advance of the meeting, upon advice of counsel, that stated, substantially:

Consistent with the Executive Order issued by NJ Governor Murphy and as suggested by the CDC, in light of COVID-19, the LBHA should not gather in groups of more than ten (10) for the board meeting scheduled for Monday, March 23, 2020. LBHA therefore established a conference call option for the meeting for three (3) of the board members to call into the meeting. The remaining four (4) members will attend in-person, so that the required statutory quorum is met. The in-person meeting will require the Commissioners (as well as counsel, the Executive Director and Executive Assistant) to be spaced at least 6' apart around the room. Although senior staff of the LBHA, are dismissed from attending this meeting, if members from the public should show up, arrangements will be made to space them at least six feet apart from any other person.

The Meeting Convened at 5:00 PM with the following persons present:

In-Person:

Carl Jennings, Chairman Nekesha Marshall, Vice-Chairman Donald Covin, Commissioner Dorthia Johnson, Commissioner

On Phone/Call in Meeting: Robert Vignolini, Commissioner Anita Clavering, Commissioner. Maritza Berrios, Commissioner

Staff Present: Gloria J. Wright, Executive Director

Sophia Loren Banks, Executive Administrative Assistant

Katherine Young, Accounts Payable

Kevin McCann

The Chairman Jennings announced that all cell phones be turned off or put on vibrate for the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER - BOARD ANNOUNCEMENT: (READ BY ATTORNEY JOSEPH MANFREDI)

In accordance with the Local Public Meetings Act of 1975 and as amended, advanced notice of the meeting including the agenda, was sent to the Local Newspapers, delivered to the City Clerk's Office, posted on the Long Branch Housing Authority Web Site, and posted at all Long Branch Housing Authority Offices at least (48 hours prior to the convening of the meeting).

CHAIRMAN JENNINGS LED THE SALUTE TO THE FLAG:

Gloria J Wright, Executive Director opened the meeting with Roll Call. Commissioners present and absent are listed above.

NO PUBLIC PRESENT AT MEETING

ADOPTION OF THE PUBLIC SESSION MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF APRIL 20, 2020

Commissioner Covin made a motion to approve and accept the minutes of the public session of the regular meeting held April 20, 2020, second by Commissioner Johnson.

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Covin, Clavering, Berrios, Vice-Chairman Marshall and Chairman Jennings.

Opposed, None. Abstain, None Absent, None Motion, Carried.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS REPORT:

Executive Director Wright provided the board with relevant activities and news for the month of April 2020. Executive Director Wright outlined and summarized the Executive Director's Report provided to the Board.

Resolution 05-01-2020 - Resolution approving the list of bills for April 2020, and authorizing the payment of bills

Vice-Chairman Marshall stated that finance committee has reviewed the List of bills with the Finance Department and that all questions have been satisfied. Vice-Chairman Marshall requested a motion to accept and approve Resolution 05-01-2020 the List of Bills in the amount of \$1,724,174.52 Vice-Chairman Marshall motioned, seconded by Commissioner Covin.

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Covin, Clavering, Berrios, Vice-Chairman Marshall and Chairman Jennings.

Opposed, None. Abstain, None Absent, None Motion, Carried.

No public present

Resolution 05-02-2020 - Resolution approving the transaction, authorizing a contract for audit services, authorizing an expenditure of funds in an amount not to exceed \$15,500.00, subject to appropriations

Commissioner Covin made a motion to approve and accept Resolution 05-02-2020 second by Vice-Chairman Marshall.

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Covin, Clavering, Berrios, Vice-Chairman Marshall and Chairman Jennings.

Opposed, None. Abstain, None Absent, None Motion, Carried.

No public present

Resolution 05-03-2020 - Resolution approving the transaction, authorizing a contract for fee accountant, authorizing an expenditure of funds in an amount not to exceed \$50,000.00, subject to appropriations

Commissioner Covin made a motion to approve and accept Resolution 05-03-2020 second by Commissioner Marshall.

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Covin, Clavering, Berrios, Vice-Chairman Marshall and Chairman Jennings.

Opposed, None. Abstain, None Absent, None Motion, Carried.

No public present

Resolution 05-04-2020 - Resolution approving the transaction, ratifying past actions, awarding a contract for legal services with the firm of Manfredi & Pellechio for a three-month term, authorizing an expenditure of funds in an amount not to exceed \$15,000, subject to appropriations

Commissioner Covin made a motion to approve and accept Resolution 05-04-2020 second by Commissioner Vignolini

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Covin, Clavering, Berrios, Vice-Chairman Marshall and Chairman Jennings.

Opposed, None. Abstain, None Absent, None Motion, Carried.

No public present

CHAIRMAN JENNINGS TURNED MEETING OVER TO THE BOARD ATTORNEY JOSEPH MANFREDI FOR THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION OF OFFICERS

NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMAN:

Chairman Jennings made motion to nominate Vice-Chairman Marshall as Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Covin. Vice-Chairman Marshall declined the nomination.

Chairman Jennings made a motion to nominate Commissioner Covin as Chairman, seconded by Vice-Chairman Marshall.

No other nominations given at this time. Attorney Manfredi closed Chairman Nominations.

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Clavering, Berrios, Vice-Chairman Marshall and Chairman Jennings.

Opposed, None. Abstain, Commissioner Covin Absent, None Motion, Carried.

Commissioner Covin accepts the position of Chairman for the year 2020-2021.

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-CHAIRMAN:

Commissioner Covin made motion to nominate Commissioner Marshall as Vice-Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Jennings

No other nominations given at this time. Attorney Manfredi closed Vice-Chairman Nominations.

Roll Call Vote Taken:

Ayes, Commissioners Johnson, Vignolini, Jennings, Clavering, Berrios, and Chairman Covin.

Opposed, None. Abstain, Vice-Chairman Marshall Absent, None Motion, Carried.

Vice-Chairman Nekesha Marshall accepts the position of Vice-Chairman for the year 2020-2021.

COMMISSIONERS COMMENTS AND CONCERNS:

NO COMMENTS FROM THE COMMISSIONERS

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further matters of discussion for the Board of Commissioners Meeting of April 20, 2020 Commissioner Jennings made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Vice-Chairman Marshall

All in Favor, All Ayes Opposed, None Absent, None Motion, Carried

MEETING	ADJOURNED	AT 5.17PM

Gloria J Wright, Secretary	Date