Housing Choice Voucher Program

(Formally Known as Section 8)

Housing Choice Voucher Program

The Housing Choice Voucher program (Previously Section 8) is the federal government’s major program for assisting very low-income families, the elderly, and the disabled to afford decent, safe, and sanitary housing in the private market. Since housing assistance is provided on behalf of the family or individual, participants are able to find their own housing, including single-family homes, townhouses, and apartments. These units must meet the requirements of the program.

Housing Choice Vouchers are administered locally by public housing agencies (PHAs). The PHAs receive federal funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to administer the voucher program.

A family that is issued a housing voucher is responsible for finding a suitable housing unit of the family’s choice where the owner agrees to rent under the program. This unit may include the family’s present residence. Rental units must meet minimum standards of health and safety, as determined by the PHA.
A housing subsidy is paid to the property owner directly by the PHA, on behalf of the participating family. The family then pays the difference between the actual rent charged by the property owner and the amount subsidized by the program. Under certain circumstances, if authorized by the PHA, a family may use its voucher to purchase a modest home.

Eligibility for a housing voucher is determined by the PHA based on the total annual gross income and family size, and is limited to US citizens and specified categories of non-citizens who have eligible immigration status. In general, the family’s income may not exceed 50% of the median income for the county or metropolitan area in which the family chooses to live. By law, a PHA must provide 75 percent of its voucher to applicants whose incomes do not exceed 30 percent of the area median income. Median income levels are published by HUD and vary by location.

The income limits for your area and family size can be found by Clicking Here.

Family Self-Sufficiency Program

The Family Self-Sufficiency Program (FSS)is an employment and savings incentive program for low-income families that have Section 8 vouchers.

Self-sufficiency is, and will continue to be the cornerstone of LBHA’s vision, whether it is literal, social or economic mobility. The City of Long Branch Housing Authority implemented the FSS Program in 1998 that offers programs and courses to families of Housing Choice Voucher (HCV)/Section 8 and Public Housing. Under this Program families have the opportunity to participate in classes that will, in due course, put them on the path towards becoming self-sufficient with the final objective of home ownership. Some of the courses includes, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Education Referrals – Planning for College/GED/local community college;
  • Family & Children’s Service offers home health aide certification program and education programs;
  • Prevention First provides health education services;
  • Employment Support Service – Resume, job search, and computer skill training;
  • Homeownership Program
  • Employee Assistance Program – EAP

Applications for the Housing Choice Voucher Program are Currently Closed.